HTI 346 First Assignment

  1. Create WordPress.com blog
  2. Pick a template
  3. Add one widget/plugin
  4. Post first blog post (describe/evaluate steps 1-3)
  5. Email Tim the URL
  6. How do you measure the feedback/interaction (extra credit 2 pts.)

Signing up for a WordPress account was simple enough, as you only need to provide a functioning email. After this comes the fun part; picking out your theme! I decided to go with a simple layout: Isola. It took me a few minutes to figure out how to add widgets to my site, but I eventually did find it and had them added. I had to be on my site and click on the customize button that is located near the bottom. I thought my theme was pretty simple, but I guess not, since I had troubles navigating my site to look for the widgets that I had added earlier. However, I eventually did figure it out. My widgets are there and functioning properly!

For next time, I would go over how WordPress works before just diving into my assignment, so I can get a feel for how it works. Otherwise, WordPress is relatively simple to understand and use.

 

Leave a Reply

